Happy Fucking Easter

Posted: April 24, 2011 in my life today, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Ah, Happy Easter everyone! I must say, it has been a very interesting one to say the least…

My day started out with sleeping in an extra hour because I knew it would be slow at work…hmm, thinking this was a good start to my day was very deceptive. I got to work to take my cab out, and it’s in the shop for work….again….so I end up in cab 65. Now, 65 is a very nice cab, much newer than my usual #3, so I thought again, a good day was coming….oh, if only I had remembered that Murphy has a hitlist out on me!

It started out with realizing (too late to do anything about it) that there was only 1/2 tank of gas in the car. Meaning that I would have to pay to fill it at the end of the day. If I had caught it before I left the Point, I would have been fine, but NO, I noticed it after I left and got my first fare….

Then, from 7:30 a.m. to noon, I only had 4 runs…this SUCKS!!!

From then on, my day only went downhill….my credit  card machine wouldn’t print, and I also could not print cash receipts for people…big problem. As if this wasn’t enough, I get a call for a guy going to the Naval Base (which some parts you need a special I.D. to get in, which I do not have yet) and the dispatcher couldn’t tell me if this was one of those areas or not. I thought he was cancelling the call, but it remained on my computer, and he went on a break, leaving me sitting there wondering WTF to do.

Finally I just went to the house for the run. No one came out. I left, but stayed close by because I still could not get hold of dispatch on the computer to sort it out. I finally just called the phone for the back office to find out what is going on, finding out that nothing is going to dispatch from our computers. BIG issue!

So I call the guy from the Naval Base, and he says that no I.D. is needed and I take him. It’s close by the Point, so I go back to the Point and talk to the dispatcher about what was going on. There for another 1/2 hour, then I leave to get back to work. At this time, all of a sudden the A/C has stopped working, and I have had it. I take the cab back, talk to dispatch to make sure they had enough drivers, and I go home early.

Ahh, but please don’t think that Murphy is finished with me yet! He’s on a roll, and he’s going to get me yet…..

So I call the kid that had owed me a fare from the other day (I had his license and I forgot to give it back to him when he paid me…long story, but I’m too fucking nice to people….) so I take his license n back to him in Mount Pleasant. He notices my rear tire is low, so now I’m having to rush back home, search the phone book for a tire store (I could hear the leak, the valve stem was leaking, quite suddenly…) and finally figured out that Sears is open for another 45 minutes…so I rush over to West Ashley to the Citadel Mall for Sears to fix my tire.

Sears had quoted me $19 for a valve stem replacement…a little pricey I thought, but nothing else is open on Easter Sunday, so WTF, ok. I also ended up needing some brake fluid and power steering fluid, etc…..so it ended up to be $32. I had $52 and some change on me. Now, I had already told the guy about the tire being on a steel rim that tends to weld itself to the wheel, and that they needed a sledgehammer to get it off the last time they took it off. Apparently, he paid no attention to what I said…..they couldn’t get the tire off, and no sledgehammer in the shop. NO sledgehammer??? In an auto department??? hmmm……

By this time, they had closed 10 minutes ago and wanted to leave. They tried telling me that they wouldn’t be able to fix it tonight. Ummmm, NO. It’s flat. I can’t even drive it out of the parking lot. It MUST be fixed. Tonight. Now. I’ll buy a fucking sledgehammer myself so you can fix my car. So that’s what I do. By the time I went to the tools, found what I need (with the southern gentleman slowly talking/walking his way along trying to find the hammer section….) and returned, they had the tire off. They fixed it, but not without a bit of attitude. Yes, I know it’s now 5:30, and your families are waiting for you….but you were open when I got here, and if you had the proper tools, it would have been done by 5:05.

The only good things coming from today were the fact that I got 2 more regular customers for my cab….private runs, regularly. Almost daily. So, we’ll see what happens next! 🙂

It has to get better….it can’t possibly stay this way….

Oh, and I forgot to tell you about the $47 fare that little bitch booked on…..if I see her, I’m running her over with my cab.

Leave a Reply

